Collaborative Approach

Green Marine’s uniqueness lies in the composition of its advisory committees: they bring together the key representatives of industry stakeholders, governmental regulators, scientific research community, and environmental organizations. Twice a year, these representatives are invited by one of Green Marine’s program managers to the same (real or virtual) table. Their input on different aspects of the program’s development is keenly sought. These advisory committees are a big part of Green Marine’s collaborative success!

Regional input has been a core aspect of the Green Marine program from the very start. The program launched with two regional advisory committees, representing the St. Lawrence region and the Great Lakes. There are now four advisory committees representing the St. Lawrence region, the Great Lakes, the North Atlantic, and the West Coast.

The advisory committees facilitate additional opportunities for members to raise environmental issues of particular concern to their region and to explore some possible solutions through collaboration. They also discuss how proposed overall changes to the program might particularly affect their region before any new criteria is adopted.

Under Green Marine’s framework, a regional advisory committee can be formed when a region’s membership becomes sufficiently large to have a full committee of relevant stakeholders at meetings – at least 50% of them being Green Marine participants (ship owners, port authorities, terminal operators and/or shipyard managers), and at least 25% of them representing Green Marine supporting members (environmental organizations, government departments/agencies, and scientific/academic institutions).

Collaborative Approach

St. Lawrence Advisory Committee

The St. Lawrence advisory committee brings together the stakeholders from the St. Lawrence and Saguenay riversides: between the Seaway’s entrance and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. This is the only committee working exclusively in French. Green Marine’s St. Lawrence program manager, Véronique Trudeau, facilitates this committee.


  • Caroline Denis, Canada Steamship Lines
  • Daniel Côté, Desgagnés
  • Sébastien Rioux, Ducks Unlimited
  • Dominique Tremblay, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Marie-Andrée Giguère, Fednav
  • Samuel Turgeon, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Supriya Tandan, Logistec Corporation
  • Sylvain Lafrance, Maritime Innovation
  • Véronik de la Chenelière, Ministère des forêts, de la faune et des parcs
  • Marie-Michelle Cyr, Ministère des Transports du Québec
  • Claude Deschambault, Montreal Port Authority
  • Julien Poisson, Nature Conservancy of Canada
  • Ianie Thomassin, QSL
  • Marie-Ève Lemieux, Québec Port Authority
  • Manon D’Auteuil, Sept-Îles Port Authority (Chair)
  • Miako Ushio, Shipping Federation of Canada
  • Mathieu St-Pierre, St. Lawrence Economic Development Council (SODES)
  • Steven Murray, St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation
  • Céline Bussières, Stratégie Maritime du Québec
  • Jean-Éric Turcotte, Stratégie Saint-Laurent
  • Claude Comtois, University of Montréal
  • Said Nassif, Verifier


Great Lakes Advisory Committee

The Great Lakes advisory committee works as a binational entity since the very beginning. It brings together stakeholders from all types of maritime activities on both sides of the Canada and United States border in the Great Lakes region. Thomas Grégoire, Green Marine’s Great Lakes & East Coast program manager, is responsible for this committee.


  • Mira Hube, Algoma Central Corporation
  • Debbie Murray, Association of Canadian Port Authorities
  • Paul Topping, Chamber of Marine Commerce
  • Linda Sternheimer, Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority
  • Mark Gloutney, Ducks Unlimited
  • Jeff Stollenwerk, Duluth Seaway Port Authority
  • Nicole Trepanier, Fednav
  • Richard Stewart, Great Lakes Maritime Research Institute
  • Craig Middlebrook, Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation
  • Sara Yonson, Hamilton Oshawa Port Authority
  • Paul Christensen, Interlake Steamship Company
  • Olous Boag, McKeil Marine
  • Michael Casey, Ministry of Transportation of Ontario (MTO)
  • Stephen Shaw, Owen Sound Transportation Company
  • Steve McCauley, Pollution Probe
  • Adam Tindall-Schlicht, Port Milwaukee
  • Jean Aubry-Morin, St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (Chair)
  • Jeff Johnson, Transport Canada
  • To be confirmed, Verifier

West Coast Advisory Committee

In 2013, the West Coast advisory committee was the first additional group to be formed once the critical mass of members was reached within the region. It encompasses participants between Prince Rupert to San Diego along the U.S. and Canadian West Coast. Green Marine opened its membership to maritime companies outside the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence regions in 2010 by welcoming the Port of Prince Rupert in British Columbia. The West Coast advisory committed is coordinated by Green Marine’s senior program manager, Eleanor Kirtley who is based in Seattle, Washington.


  • Robert Lewis-Manning, Chamber of Shipping of British Columbia
  • Michael Pucci, DP World – Prince Rupert
  • Bryan McEwen, Envirochem
  • Katelyn Wells, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Christianne Wilhelmson, Georgia Strait Alliance
  • Sean Caughlan, Glosten
  • Ron Sander, Neptune Terminals
  • Kathy Heise, Ocean Wise (Vancouver Aquarium)
  • Zach Birmingham, Port of San Diego
  • Mike DeSota, Port of Seattle
  • Jason Scherr, Prince Rupert Port Authority
  • Katrina Bews, SAAM Towage Canada
  • Daryl Lawes, Seaspan (Chair)
  • Emma Jarrett, Squamish Terminals
  • Brooke Coburn, Trans Mountain (Westridge Terminal)
  • Carrie Brown, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority
  • Katharine Sweeney, Verifier
  • Kevin Bartoy, Washington State Ferries
  • Kim Dunn, WWF Canada

North Atlantic Advisory Committee

Created in 2021, the North Atlantic advisory committee is the newest addition to Green Marine’s collaborative approach and gives members in the Atlantic provinces and Northeastern United States a greater opportunity to have a say about the future of the environmental certification program. The committee membership spans from Newfoundland’s easternmost tip westward to Belledune, New Brunswick, and north and south between Newfoundland to Norfolk, Virginia. These are the same boundaries used by the North Atlantic Ports Association and defined by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers as the North Atlantic. The committee is coordinated by Green Marine East Coast and Great Lakes program manager, Thomas Grégoire, who is based in Halifax, Nova Scotia.


  • Dan Vyselaar, Atlantic Towing
  • Peter Dierickx, Belledune Port Authority
  • Melody Pardoe, Canada’s Ocean Supercluster
  • Moira Brown, Canadian Whale Institute
  • Sean Brillant, Canadian Wildlife Federation
  • Mashall Dunbar, Federal Fleet Services
  • Matt Beyer, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Chris MacDonald, Halifax Port Authority (Chair)
  • Lonita Judge, Horizon Maritime
  • Sasha Stubbert, Marine Atlantic
  • Rick Wilson, Northumberland Bay Ferries
  • Hilary Harron, Ocean Frontier Institute
  • Hussam Labib, Oceanex
  • Richard Hendrick, Port of Albany
  • Ron Twohig, PSA Halifax
  • Mike Jarbeau, Save the Bay (Rhode Island)
  • Arnold Croken, Summerside Port
  • To be confirmed, Verifier
  • Margaret Flanagan, Waterfront Alliance
  • Chris Waterson, Waterson Terminals
Tweets by GMarine_AVerte